Travel Buddy: Andrea

Andrea is a professional accountant and works in a multinational corporation. She is my teammate in dragon boating, mountaineer and member of a rescue team.

1. FAVOURITE DESTINATION SO FAR

TAIWAN. I’ve been there twice and I was really impressed with the discipline shown by the locals. Most of our time was spent in Taipei and despite being a highly-industrialised city, it’s very clean and green. There are no trash cans in the street but there are also no trash scattered. They have an efficient transportation system. The people follow traffic rules and regulations, including inside bus and train stations. On my second visit we had time to visit other destinations aside from Taipei and again, I was impressed on how they take care of their natural resources. Tourist destinations are developed but maintained to make sure you still feel like you are in a natural space. Of the few Asian countries I’ve visited so far, Taipei is the country I would definitely want to go back to.

TravBuddy Andrea (14)
Taipei is a very clean city.
TravBuddy Andrea (15)
A relaxing early morning walk near the Beitou train station.
TravBuddy Andrea (6)
One of the amazing viewpoints in Alishan, Taiwan.
TravBuddy Andrea (5)
No hiking fee but the trails are marked and complete with rope and safety devices (Wuliao Jian, Taiwan).

2. MOST MEMORABLE TRIP SO FAR

MY 8-DAY SOLO BACKPACKING TRIP IN MINDANAO (from Davao to Surigao City) LAST YEAR (2015). This was my first official solo trip and I really enjoyed it a lot. Why? I spent a lot of time meeting and conversing with locals, from my habal-habal driver to local guides and even the owner of inns/guest houses I stayed in. I moved freely on my own pace. I stayed longer in places I did like, sometimes I would just sit down somewhere where I can enjoy the view or do “people-watching.” I met other tourists who allowed me to join their boat tour and spent a night with them on an island. This solidified my idea that solo travel is something I would enjoy and be comfortable doing.

TravBuddy Andrea (10)
At the top of Tinuy-an Falls highest tier in Bislig, Surigao del Sur.
TravBuddy Andrea (9)
Aliwagwag Falls in Cateel, Davao Oriental
TravBuddy Andrea (8)
Dare to challenge yourself.

3. FAVOURITE TRAVEL BUDDY/IES

No specific person but someone who is probably more like me. People who are up for anything, willing to get sweaty and dirty, appreciates nature and are generally nice to people. One more thing, someone I can have both light and meaningful conversations and at the same time someone who would be comfortable hanging out with me on my quiet moments.

TravBuddy Andrea buddies
Yes, that’s me, with Andrea in Palaui Island on the first day of the year; with Sirikit in Siem Reap; and with Neslie in Thailand-Malaysia-Singapore.

4. FIRST THING YOU DO WHEN YOU ARE IN A NEW PLACE

Check out where to eat or hang-out and where to go for nature trips.

5. TOP PICK FOR A DREAM TRAVEL

TravBuddy Andrea (16)
A scenic train ride in India followed by an 11-day Langtang National Park trek in Nepal (Photo by Yosarian, uploaded in wikipedia.)
Machu Picchu (Peru)
A 5-day Inca trail trek to Machu Picchu with side trip to Huayna Picchu Mountain in Peru followed by backpacking trip around South America. Photo from this website.

6. WHAT INTERESTS YOU IN YOUR TRAVELS.

The scenery, people and food.

TravBuddy Andrea (7)
Alishan, Taiwan
TravBuddy Andrea (12)
Surigao City, Philippines
TravBuddy Andrea (13)
Siem Reap, Cambodia
TravBuddy Andrea (11)
Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur
TravBuddy Andrea (3)
Khao Sok National Park, Thailand
TravBuddy Andrea (2)
Surat Thani, Thailand
TravBuddy Andrea Food
Food in Malaysia and Thailand.

7. WHERE DO YOU PLAN TO GO NEXT AND WHAT DO YOU PLAN TO DO ON THE TRIP

NEW ZEALAND. A one-month trip where I plan to stay with host individual/families under the Workawayers program. This will allow me to stay with the host for a week or two, helping them with everyday chores for specified hours (around 3-5 daily) in exchange for accommodation and maybe even food. Aside from saving money, I’ll get a feel of how the locals get by on a daily basis and get to know them more intimately. Then of course the best thing about it is I have time to explore the place I am staying at after I met the required work hours.

TravBuddy Andrea (1)
Waiheke Island in Auckland, New Zealand. Photo from this website.

8. WHAT CAN YOU SAY ABOUT TRAVELING?

It is the best way for someone to appreciate and experience all the beauty and amazing things this world has to offer. For me, it gives me something to look forward to because in every trip there‘s always a possibility of wonderment.

Every trip is an adventure waiting to happen.

Andrea is one of the strong women I have met. I was with her on my two most dreaded, death-defying hikes (Mayon Volcano and Mount Guiting-Guiting). I did not hear her complain through loose rocks, muddy trails, knife-edge trails and even when rain made the way to the summit nearly impossible.

TravBuddy Andrea II (4)
At the summit of Mount Guiting-Guiting.
TravBuddy Andrea II (1)
We are at the summit of the Mount Guiting-Guiting!

What makes her stronger is that she travels not only to see new beautiful places, she does it to share her blessings. What a beautiful soul!

TravBuddy Andrea II (5)
Andrea does not mind traveling with this habal-habal just to get to her destination.
TravBuddy Andrea II (6)
These Cordilleran kids are happier with what Andrea brought to them last Christmas.
Leave a Reply

